Hmmm…

Nobody has posted in a while so I thought I would post something just to see if everyone is still alive!!

We got a new admit today from the ER with the history of a possible TIA, although they gave her Imitrex in the ER for her possible migraine even though the doc I was with told them not to until the talked to neurology (which they didn’t do), and a history of bladder cancer.  So, I go in to start her H&P and it turns out that she has a history of not one but two aortic dissections with residual right sided weakness, severe hypertension, an existing 5 cm AAA, multiple surgeries, multiple cancers, and they didn’t actually scan her chest and belly to assure she was not leaking from her previous aortic repairs and she has had 8 or 9 CT scans in the past year.  Holy cow!!  I have to tell you I had to tell the physician I was with that I was a little overwhelmed with this case and I didn’t really know what exactly I should even start with!!  I have learned a ton on this rotation but I still don’t feel ready to take on such a difficult case.  🙂  And I hope to good heavens that I learned to give a better report then that when I send a patient up from the ER!!

-T

One thought on “Hmmm…

  1. Thats crazy, T. Sounds like a good rotation. Mine is mind numbingly slow. We will see five patients total on a busy day all with schizoaffectice disorder. Hope everyone is well.

Leave a comment